Why are users allowed to edit or delete their own content in an active POPin?
POPin discourages users from editing or deleting their own content in most scenarios, as doing so may alter or limit conversations within POPin. However, there are some cases in which a user may wish to elaborate on a contribution or correct content. POPin uses various cues to show when content has been edited or deleted by its respective user in order to maintain transparency in the conversation. In other words, if you edit or delete your content, it will be indicated that you've done so for other users to see.
Should I consider editing or deleting my own content?
POPin harnesses the power of anonymous crowdsourcing to create honest and productive conversations, often resulting in impassioned responses. We strongly encourage users to voice productive, honest, and respectful communication that aligns with their organization's Code of Conduct. Content that "calls out" specific employees in a disparaging way and/or use of offensive language is an incorrect usage of the platform, and the editing/removal function may be utilized as a result.
Content that promotes productive and spirited debate should remain in the POPin in most scenarios, allowing the crowd to determine its merit with votes and comments. Content that may be perceived as 'unpopular' can be vital for building trust, uncovering confusion, and finding ways to improve communication in the POPin.
How do I edit or delete my own content in a POPin?
1) Identify the answer or comment you wish to edit/delete
2) Select the three dots next to the timestamp on your post:
3) Select 'Edit' or 'Delete'
4) Make any necessary changes before saving or confirming your choice
Please note: you cannot undo these actions once you finalize the changes.
How will other users in the POPin be notified of edited content?
If a user edits their own content prior to any interaction with the content (voting and/or commenting on the item), POPin will not distinguish between any changes made to the content. Users may or may not notice edits made to content based on individual observation.
If a user edits their own content after another user has interacted with it, POPin will display ‘Edited’ underneath the edited content to notify users that edits were made. The original content will not be visible to anyone in the POPin.
Will other users in the POPin be notified of deleted content?
If a user deletes their own content prior to any user interaction with the content (voting and/or commenting on the item), POPin will not provide any indication that a user chose to remove their own content. Users may or may not notice the deletion based on individual observation.
If a user deletes their own response after another user has interacted with it, POPin will display ‘Content removed by original poster’ in place of the content to notify users that it was deleted. If a user deletes their answer, the voting and commenting history will also be removed on that answer. If a user deletes their comment on an answer, the answer and any other votes/comments on the answer will be retained.
I’m a POPin Creator, can I edit or remove content that I have not authored?
No, you may only delete content that you have authored. If you believe that another user's content should be removed, reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org and our Customer Success team will assist you as soon as possible.
Can another user edit or delete content that I've authored?
No, users do not have access to any of the functions listed above unless you've authorized a specific user in your organization via Manage My Account Access and they act on your behalf during the active POPin.
I’m a POPin Creator and a user has edited or deleted their own content. How will this affect my Dashboard?
Your Dashboard metrics will only count contribution numbers present at the close of your POPin. Content that was edited and/or deleted by its respective user will not affect any metric reports. Content removed by its respective author after any user interaction will be displayed as ‘Content removed by original poster’ at the bottom of your report.